Ode to Sorrow

There’s something romantic about

pouring a pitcher full of sorrow

into my brain like chilled beer in a mason jar

that I gulp down and refill, refill

until I’m filled with drunken thoughts

about my lack of – and

overabundance of life.

 

I sit on a mountain

of melancholy, and swim in a river

of despair and sulk in the sorrow

that I allow into

every single moment of my day

and there’s not a thing

I’ll do to change it

 

Sorrow,

whispering into my ear,

“Get up, go outside,” and “Sulk a little more,”

so I slip on my moccasins and traipse

to the coffee shop

where I sit in the window

watching all of the lonely people

in hopes that one

will make eye contact with me

so I can kiss the sorrow

from their lips

only to turn away

and never look back.

Leave a comment